Jack Bissegger (1932-2009)

Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Jack Bissegger, a professional golf legends, was honoured at La Vallée du Richelieu on June 3, 2019.
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009)

A dominant figure on the competitive stage of the 1960s and 70s, Jack Bissegger was renowned in the industry for his talent as much as for his personality. A great humanist, he regularly supported causes aiming to relieve the burdens of those who were less fortunate.

His story started at the beginning of the 1940s at Club de golf LaSalle where he was a caddie at first and eventually became the Club Professional. At the beginning of the 1950s, he was the Professional at the Marlborough Golf & Country Club before joining Club de golf Val-Morin from 1955 to 1965. Back then, he would compete on the American PGA in the winter and also worked as the Club Professional of the Riddell’s Bay Golf Club, in Warwick, Bermuda.

For the longest time, as a competitive golfer, he was the main rival of his great friend Adrien Bigras who was also inducted into the Québec Golf Hall of Fame in 2005. He won quite a few titles in the province, including the 1963 Québec Open and four victories at the Golf Québec Spring Open (1960, 1963, 1964, and 1967). In 2002, after close to 55 years of competitive life, Golf Québec invited him to act as Honourary President of the Spring Open where he had the opportunity to reconnect with the event and compete, for the first time, with his sons Joey and Tom in the same threesome.

In 1965, he became the founding golf professional of La Vallée du Richelieu. This is where he was host to the Canadian Open twice, first when Lee Trevino (1971) and then Tom Weiskopf (1973) were crowned, as well, the 1980 Du Maurier Classic was also played under Jack's watchful eye. His hard work and dedication at La Vallée du Richelieu led him to be presented with the Canadian Professional of the Year award.

An active golfer to his dying day, he was co-owner of the Candiac and Rive-Sud golf clubs with business partners and two of his brothers. A respected figure of his industry, he was honoured by the PGA of Québec in November of 2008 for his lifetime accomplishments, on and off the course.

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2023 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 4 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu; Jacques Nols; Marcel Paul Raymond; Graham Cooke
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944 - ) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909 - 1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938 - ) inducted in 2005
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964 - ) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947 - 2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953 -) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970 -   ) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946 - ) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937 -) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958 - ) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947 -  ) inducted in 2020
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944 - ) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913 – 1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921 - 2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960 -) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912 - 1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908 - 1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911 – 1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982 - ) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887 - 1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882 – 1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945 - ) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943 - ) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953 -...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939 - ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021