Dave Ross (1943 - …)

Dave Ross (1943 - ) inducted in 2022  

Mr. Ross was elected to the Québec Golf Hall of Fame in the Builder category.

Dave Ross (1943 - …)

A native of Lachine, Québec, Mr. Ross’ first love was hockey, playing with the Lachine Maroons in the era of Cournoyer, Lemaire, St. Onge, and then earning a scholarship to St. Lawrence University, Canton, New York, where he captained both the hockey and golf teams and received his B.A. in 1967.

Golf won over hockey, and after serving as an Assistant at Royal Montreal, Summerlea and Rosemère, Ross became the Head Professional at Candiac, 1972, and later l’Estérel, 1981-2001. A well-deserved break in 2002, and then the Coordinator of the Future Links program for Golf Québec from 2003-05. He then returned as Head Professional at Gowan Brae (Bathurst, NB), Miramichi, (NB), The Falcon, (Hudson), Mactaquac, (Fredericton, NB), and then back to Estérel 2014-21.

Mr. Ross won half a dozen professional events in Québec, including the Québec Assistants’ Championship of 1969 (Ernie Findlay), Québec Open Pro-Am (1983), and the inaugural Québec Club Professional Championship (1983).

More directed to administration, he served as Captain (1976) and President (1978) of the PGA of Québec and President of the PGA of Canada (1985-87). He also assisted on numerous committees at the local, provincial and national levels, including the Québec Golf Hall of Fame Committee (2016-21). Mr. Ross just completed 50 years as a Class A Member of the PGA of Canada and is a Lifetime Member.

Recognized for his outstanding contributions to golf development, Mr. Ross received the award for the Professional who has contributed the Most for the Advancement of Golf in Québec, twice- 1998 and 2006. He was the originator, host and directed the First and Only All-Female ‘Ladies Pro-Am’ in Canada, proudly working with his immediate Committee of Jocelyne Bourassa and Mario Brisebois (both Québec golf hall of famers), from 1989-1999, starting with 13 teams and a purse of $6,000 and ending with 35 teams and a record $55,000 purse for a one-day tournament. Professionals participating in the Estérel Pro-Am and Guess Tournament included Québec golf inductees Debbie Savoy Morel and Mary Lee Cobick as well as LPGA legends Lorie Kane and Nancy Harvey, Terry Brecher and Linda Shepherd.

Mr. Ross was also awarded the prestigious Pierre-Nadon Award (2016) from Golf Québec for his 50 years of career, passion and dedication to the game of golf.

Completing the public service record was co-founding the Irish Open (1984-2000) with Paul Sowney, with proceeds to the Erin Sports Club.


Committee and Inducted Members

The 2024 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 3 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu, Jacques Nols, Marcel Paul Raymond
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944-...) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909-1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938-2022) inducted in 2005
André Maltais (1942-...) inducted in 2024 
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964-...) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947-2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953-...) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970-...) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946-...) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937-...) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958-...) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947-...) inducted in 2020
Diane Dunlop-Hébert (1959-...) inducted in 2024
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944-...) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913-1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921-2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960-...) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912-1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908-1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911-1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982-...) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887-1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882-1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945-...) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943-...) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953-...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939-... ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021