Steve Davies (1958 - …)

Steve Davies (1958 - ) inducted in 2022 

Mr. Davies was elected to the Québec Golf Hall of Fame in the Player category.

Steve Davies (1958 - …)

A member of the Dufferin Heights Club (1972-82) and the Cedarhill Club (1982-86), Mr. Davies joined the Royal Montreal Golf Club in 1987, where he is still highly respected for his golfing skills and his presence on and off the course.

Mr. Davies dominated the competitive amateur scene from 1987 to 2002. With thirteen victories on the Men's Provincial Amateur Tour, he shares the record of three match play titles with Bob Mailloux and with Marc-Étienne Bussières who is now a professional. He also shares the record of four titles at the Men's Provincial Amateur Championship with the event's first ever winner, G.A. Hutton of Beaconsfield. Mr. Davies was honoured as Golf Québec's Golfer of the Year in 1987, 1989, and 1991. He won the Spring Open at Beaconsfield in 1991 and was the top amateur in 1988. Winner of the Duke of Kent in 1993, he was also runner-up at the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship in 1991 and 1998.

He was also a member of the Willingdon Cup teams that represented the province at the Canadian Amateur Championships in 1984, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, and 2002, tying him with Tommy Riddell for 3rd place among players who have been on the most teams. He is second only to Québec Golf Hall of Famers Graham Cooke (27 amateur teams) and Pierre Archambault (9 amateur teams) in this ranking. He also represented Canada with teams that travelled to the amateur championships in Chile, Argentina, and Australia.

Born in Montréal, Mr. Davies is also involved in the golf industry as the Owner and Operator of Jancor Agencies, the exclusive Canadian distributor for SkyCaddie and many other leading golf brands.


Committee and Inducted Members

The 2024 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 3 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu, Jacques Nols, Marcel Paul Raymond
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944-...) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909-1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938-2022) inducted in 2005
André Maltais (1942-...) inducted in 2024 
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964-...) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947-2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953-...) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970-...) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946-...) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937-...) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958-...) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947-...) inducted in 2020
Diane Dunlop-Hébert (1959-...) inducted in 2024
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944-...) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913-1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921-2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960-...) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912-1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908-1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911-1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982-...) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887-1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882-1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945-...) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943-...) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953-...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939-... ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021