Jules Huot (1908 - 1999)



Jules Huot (1908 - 1999) inducted in 1996                

It would be almost impossible for an individual to have single-handedly changed the face of golf in Québec, but it is safe to say that Jules Huot definitely played an important role in the future success in this province.

While Québec might have given birth to golf in North America, its popularity was somewhat limited by the lack of interest in the French speaking population, that is until he rocked the nation by capturing the 1934 Canadian Professional Golfers’ Association championship.

Huot was the first French-Canadian golfer to become a national figure. Born January 7, 1908 in Boischatel, he entered the world of golf as a caddie at the Royal Québec Golf Club, which was located across the street from his family’s home.

The second son of one of the largest and successful golfing families, Huot used the money earned to help support his family. He eventually moved into the proshop as an assistant to Frank Locke and so impressed his mentor that Locke entered him in the 1924 Québec Open. He was all of 16 years-old.

Two years later, he moved to the Lac St. Joseph Golf Club. The following season, he went to the Kent Golf Club where for three years – 1927 through 1929 – he served as the course superintendent before becoming its head professional in 1930 – earning the title as the first Québecer to hold this position. Fifteen years later, in 1945, Huot moved to the prestigious Laval-sur-le-Lac Golf Club, where he remained until his retirement in 1970.

Huot’s success as a club professional paled by comparison to his illustrious career on the links. In all, Huot amassed 17 victories and numerous runner-up crowns. They include:

·Three CPGA Championship (1934, 1939 and 1946) and four runner-up crowns (1945, 1947, 1950 and 1952);

·The Ontario Open (1955);

·Four low Canadian honors – two in each the Canadian Open (1931 and 1935) and the Labatt Open (1953 and 1954) – a PGA sanctioned event;

·Three Québec Open Golf Championship titles (1934, 1945 and 1958);

·Five Québec PGA Championship crowns (1946, 1947, 1955, 1958 and 1959);

·Four Québec Spring Open trophies (1932, 1935, 1951 and 1952).

Huot’s illustrious career also included:

·Representing Canada against the United States in the Hopkin’s Trophy Matches (1952, 1953, 1954 and 1955);

·The 1954 Canada Cup Matches – now the World Cup

·Three Masters (1935, 1936 and 1940)

·The honor as the first Canadian Professional to win an American PGA sanctioned event – the General Brock Open Tournament at Fonthill Ontario in 1937

Huot’s highly emotional and unexpected victory over Harry Cooper in the General Brock and his leading in the third round of the 1937 Los Angeles Open, despite suffering from the flu, are two of his most memorable tournaments that brought him world-wide recognition.

With the advent of the professional circuit player including the likes of Cooper, Ralph Guldahl, Byron Nelson, Craig Wood, Sam Snead and Ben Hogan, Huot’s success in these two PGA events were almost unheard of, particularly because as he said, “I was a club professional”.

Inducted Members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame

Pierre Archambault (1944 - ) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909 - 1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938 - ) inducted in 2005
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947 -) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953 -) inducted in 2018
Graham Cooke (1946 - ) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937 -) inducted in 1998
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944 - ) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913 – 1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921 - 2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960 -) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912 - 1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908 - 1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers - inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) - inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911 – 1997) inducted in 1997
Albert Henri Murray (1887 - 1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882 – 1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945 - ) inducted in 2012
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953 -...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939 - ) - inducted in 2017