Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963 - …)


Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963 - …) inducted in 2021
Commemorative video

A Lachine native, Marie-Thérèse Torti has a McGill University MBA and is now a self-employed computer consultant. Inspired by her father, her passion for golf began as a family activity in her teens. She was a member of Club de golf L'Épiphanie from 1979 to 1982 before joining Club de golf de la Vallée du Richelieu in 1983. Since then, she has set the women's record on the Rouville course with a round of 65, the facility's record as a 21-time female Club Champion (1997, 1999, 2001 to 2018, 2020), and had the opportunity to be part of the interclub team 36 times.

An accomplished amateur golfer, her record sheet is second to none with an impressive 25 provincial event wins. What is even more remarkable is that, at one point or another in her far from finished golf career, she has etched her name on every trophy that still exists to date. First of all, in the Jocelyne Bourassa Series: both the amateur (1) and senior (3) divisions of the Women’s Provincial Championship, the Debbie Savoy Morel Senior Cup (4), and both the amateur (1) and senior (2) categories of the Players’ Cup. In addition, she won the Mid-Amateur Championship (4), both the amateur (3) and senior (2) divisions of the Match Play Championship as well as the Suzanne-Beauregard Commemorative Tournament (6).

Recipient of the Nancy Walker Sportsmanship Award (2) and Golf Québec Senior Golfer of the Year (5), Marie-Thérèse Torti has also represented the province of Québec thirteen (13) times with the amateur team and seven (7) times with the senior team, in addition to taking part in countless Canadian (2010 Mid-Amateur and Mid-Masters Champion) and American championships with all the success she is known for. She can proudly say that she played in the inaugural US Senior Women's Open in 2018 with her childhood idols from the LPGA Professional Tour.

A proud mother of two fine young gentlemen, Marie-Thérèse Torti has always made it a point to balance her family, professional, and competitive life while finding time to add volunteer work to her resume. Her candidacy is undoubtedly enriched by all the work she has accomplished within her club as Chair of the Junior Committee, from 2010 to 2014, where she contributed to the establishment of a junior development program that sees a hundred young people aged 5 to 9 discover golf each year and those of 10 to 18 years old develop their golfing skills.

At Golf Québec, we have seen her contribute to the advancement of many initiatives as a member of the Commission of Excellence from 2002 to 2004 and Director of the first Fédération québécoise de golf from 2004 to 2007. She was also Vice-President of the Canadian Ladies Golf Association - Québec Branch, in 2004, before joining the Board of Directors of Golf Québec after the merger of the men's and women's provincial amateur associations. She was Chair of the Development Committee from 2005 to 2007.

Her accomplishments at Golf Canada cannot be overlooked. As a Governor of the Royal Canadian Golf Association (RCGA) from 2006 to 2009, she served as Chair of the Women's Championship Committee before moving on to chair the Player and Program Development Committee from 2009 to 2011. In this position, she contributed to the activities of the Amateur Championship Committee, Women's Fund Committee, and national Nominating Committee.

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2024 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 3 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu, Jacques Nols, Marcel Paul Raymond
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944-...) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909-1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938-2022) inducted in 2005
André Maltais (1942-...) inducted in 2024 
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964-...) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947-2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953-...) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970-...) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946-...) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937-...) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958-...) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947-...) inducted in 2020
Diane Dunlop-Hébert (1959-...) inducted in 2024
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944-...) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913-1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921-2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960-...) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912-1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908-1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911-1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982-...) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887-1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882-1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945-...) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943-...) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953-...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939-... ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021