Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921 - 2012)


          Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921 -) inducted in 1996                    

An outstanding administrator with an infectious personality, Chris Gribbin’s contributions to the development and promotion of the game to the Québec golf community was unequaled.

“Mr. Golf”, as he was affectionately referred, was born August 20, 1921, in Montréal. He served as the Québec Golf Association’s Tournament Director from 1954 until being promoted to the newly formed position of Executive Director in 1966, serving in that capacity until his retirement in 1989.

A graduate of LoyolaCollege, Gribbin’s tremendous administrative and communication skills led to him becoming the first non-American to be elected to the board of directors of the prestigious International Association of Golf Administrators and his serving a two year term as its president (1978-1980).

Over the 35 years that he administered the operations of the QGA, many changes and improvements occurred under his supervision.

Some of the highlights included being instrumental in the translation of the Rules of Golf into French as well as making available a bilingual club handbook to answer the needs of clubs both large and small. Through annual symposiums that answered questions on rules, tournaments and club management, he assured a high profile for the QGA in all seven of its districts that filtered down to the club level.

Through the 60’s and 70’s, Gribbin promoted the modernization of the QGA’s constitution. He was also very successful in seeking and securing major sponsors for QGA events.

In 1970, Gribbin initiated the most favorable “Greenbelt” legislation in the country. To this end, he assisted in turf grass research and management, as well as coordinating a turfgrass referral service that was subsidized by the QGA.

While the administrative aspect of golf fulfilled the need for individual clubs, it was improvements at the competitive level for Québec teams that will endear Gribbin in the hearts of golf fans.

During his tenure, Gribbin saw the establishment of junior golf camps, which subsequently raised the competitiveness of Québec’s junior teams. Through the creation of a provincial qualifying system for Québec amateur golfers (ladder) and the development of a training program that improved candidates for the Willingdon Cup team, he enhanced Québecers chances of succeeding in the national events.

Through Gribbin’s efforts, he inspired and instilled pride in both players and volunteers. The success of the game in this province can be attributed to many of his initiatives.

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2024 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 3 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu, Jacques Nols, Marcel Paul Raymond
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944-...) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909-1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938-2022) inducted in 2005
André Maltais (1942-...) inducted in 2024 
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964-...) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947-2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953-...) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970-...) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946-...) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937-...) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958-...) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947-...) inducted in 2020
Diane Dunlop-Hébert (1959-...) inducted in 2024
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944-...) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913-1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921-2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960-...) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912-1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908-1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911-1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982-...) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887-1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882-1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945-...) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943-...) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953-...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939-... ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021