Charles Richard Murray (1882 - 1939)


        Charles Richard Murray (1882 – 1939) inducted in 1996

Although he was born in Birmingham, EnglandAugust 27, 1882, C.R. (Charlies) Murray learned his craft of Canadian soil and was one of Canada’s greatest professional golfers, and his contribution to the game goes beyond his tournament record.

Murray’s family immigrated to this country when he was around six years old. As a teenager, he showed considerable prowess as a player and was accepted as an assistant to the late George Cumming at the Toronto Golf Club. For four-years under Cumming’s watchful eyes, Murray learned the art of pro shop discipline and the fundamentals for sound teaching.

Murray became a full fledged pro in 1902 being engaged by the Toronto Hunt Golf Club. The following year, he came to Montréal and for two seasons worked as the head professional at the old Westmount Golf Club. In 1905, he began his thirty-three year association with the Royal Montreal Golf Club.

Through Murray’s hight standards of golf sportsmanship and skill, as well as his deportment and courtesy in his relationship with club members, he was credited with contributing to the club’s outstanding reputation. The members of Royal Montreal so fondly regarded him, that upon his completion of a quarter century of service they awarded him an honorary life membership.

Murray, the dean of the Montréal district professionals, was highly regarded as both a player and a club professional which enhanced his popularity across North America. This led to his selection in 1924 as the head professional at the prestigious Gulf Stream Golf Club in Florida and for some ten years, his routine was to summer at Royal Montreal and winter in Florida.

Despite his years as a club professional, Murray’s keen spirit for competition never waned. This was often facilitated by the many top players, including the likes of Britain’s Ted Ray, the immortal Harry Vardon, and 1932 British Open champion Tommy Armour, who would drop in at Royal Montreal and Gulf Stream for a match.

Among his many accomplishments include:

·Twice winning the Canadian Open Championship titles (1906 and 1911) and runner-up in 1920.

·Nine times Quebec Open champion (1909, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1921, 1922, 1923, 1924) – play in the Open was suspended from 1915-1919 because of the war.

·The winner of the inaugural Canadian Professional Golfers’ Association Championship in 1912 and runner-up in the 1922 CPGA Championship.

·Captained a team of Canadian professionals in an exhibition match against the 1927 British Ryder Cup team.

·The QGA’s Spring Open champion in 1933.

·Held course records at MountBruno, Marlborough, Beaconsfield, Gulf Stream and Royal Montreal.

Murray, similar to others of his time, also had a hand in the shaping of many area clubs, for example: co-designing with his younger brother Albert the layout at Kanawaki and Whitlock golf clubs. He is also credited with “stiffening” the Royal Montreal’s old Dixie course in Dorval for the 1926 Canadian Open, “dropping traps in by the droves and bringing the South Course into the realm of one of Canada’s most exciting and testing layouts”.

Upon his death in 1939, it was reported, “the Royal and Ancient pastime suffers an irreparable loss”. Murray was just 57 years old.

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2023 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 4 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu; Jacques Nols; Marcel Paul Raymond; Graham Cooke
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944 - ) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909 - 1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938 - ) inducted in 2005
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964 - ) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947 - 2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953 -) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970 -   ) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946 - ) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937 -) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958 - ) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947 -  ) inducted in 2020
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944 - ) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913 – 1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921 - 2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960 -) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912 - 1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908 - 1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911 – 1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982 - ) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887 - 1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882 – 1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945 - ) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943 - ) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953 -...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939 - ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021