Pierre Archambault (1944 - )

Pierre Archambault (1944 - ) inducted in 2017

An accomplished player, he contributed to the development of competitive golf

Pierre Archambault (June 26, 1944 – …)

An accomplished player, Pierre Archambault was introduced to the game of golf at a very young age and was a member of the Town of Mount-Royal Golf Club from 1952 to 1957. Later on, he became a member of Club Laval-sur-le-Lac from 1956 to 1979 before joining Kanawaki where he has been since 1980. He won the Club Championship ten times, represented his club in the Intersectional Matches every year since 1959, and competed in the senior division on behalf of Kanawaki since 1999.

Pierre obtained his doctorate of dental medicine at Université de Montréal, in 1968. Through the years, he never stopped playing golf with pride and passion and participated in numerous competitions of all skills levels. Unfortunately, in the end of the 1990s, a degenerative disk disease forced him to reduce his competitive activities and make a career shift. He is now an Investment Advisor and Portfolio Manager at Richardson GMP.

A regular participant in regional competitions, Pierre won the Phoenix Invitational trophy 9 times with his playing partner, Benoît Champagne; a record in this annual event held at the Beaconsfield Golf Club. He also won the tournament of the New York Metropolitan Golf Association 5 times. A member of the Montréal Team in the Lesley Cup competition since 1974, he won the individual title 9 times as well as the twosome victory 5 times. He is a trustee of this event since 2011 and a trustee of the New York Metropolitan Golf Association since 1990.

His provincial record is just as impressive. Provincial Amateur Champion of 1972, 1979, and 1987, Pierre was a member of Team Québec in the inter-provincial competition for the Willindon Cup 9 times from 1965 to 1992. Up to now, Graham Cooke is the only one with a greater record of 27 participations. Pierre also won the 1974 Duke of Kent, 1983 Alexander of Tunis, and 1987 Spring Open. In addition, he was honoured as Golf Québec’s Golfer of the Year in 1967, 1979, and 1992.

Far from being content with his provincial achievements, Pierre won the Canadian Mid-Amateur Championship in 1989 and was runner-up in 1990. He also was part of Team Canada for the Eisenhower Trophy in the 1974 World Amateur Championship and competed in the 1988 Canadian Open. He also took part in numerous prestigious invitational tournaments including the Crump Cup at Pine Valley (NJ), Anderson Memorial presented at Winged Foot (NY), Baltusrol Invitational at Springfield (NJ), and Travis Invitational at Garden City (NY).

A committed competitor

Aside from his extensive victory record as a competitive player, Pierre Archambault also volunteered his time and expertise to promote golf development. At the Kanawaki Golf Club, he has been a member of the Standing Committee since 1995, acted as Club Captain in 2008 and 2009, and was a member of the Course Committee in 2016 and 2017.

In addition, Pierre was a member of the Tournament Committee of the Québec Golf Association (GQA) as one of the representatives of the tournament players from 1998 to 2007. As such, he contributed to the creation, in 2001, of the Antoine-Loranger Players’ Championship in which the amateur trophy is named after another famous Québec Golf Hall of Fame inductee, Graham Cooke. In 2008, to commemorate Pierre’s dedication to competitive golf in Québec, the Tournament Committee created a senior division in this Championship and the new trophy for this category was rightfully named after Pierre Archambault. 

Competitive record 
First provincial competitions 1959
Québec Junior Team (vs Ontario) 1962
Université de Montréal golf team 1962 to 1967
Inter-University champion 1964 (record)
Member of the Willingdon Cup team 9 times from 1965 to 1992 (10th time as first substitute)
Member of the Québec mid-amateur team 4 times
Member of the Canada amateur world team (Eisenhower Trophy) 1974
Winner of the Duke of Kent 1974
Winner of the Alexander of Tunis 1983
Winner of the Provincial Amateur Championship 1972, 1979, and 1987
Winner of the Spring Open 1987
Winner of the Canadian Mid-Amateur 1989; Finalist 1990
Amateur Golfer of the Year in Québec 1967, 1979, and 1992
Winner of the Béliveau – Perrault tournament 1983 and 1987
Winner of the Provincial Best-Ball Championship (with Marc Jubinville) 2005 and 2007
Winner of the Provincial Mixed Championship (with Verna Maltais) 1978
Member of Club Laval-sur-le-Lac 1956 to 1980
- Junior Champion 3 times
- Club Champion 10 times
Membre of Kanawaki since 1980
- Club Champion 10 times
- Senior Champion 5 times
Member of his intersectional club teams since 1959
Member of Kanawaki's senior intersectional teams since 1999
20 participations in the Canadian Amateur Championship (3rd in 1987)
Participation in the Canadian Open 1988
Participation in 6 Canadian Senior Championships
5 times champion of the Metropolitan Trophy including once at each host club (record)
9 times champion of the Phoenix Invitational Trophy (with Benoît Champagne) (record)
Senior Order of Merit, Montréal Regional Association 2014
Member of the Montréal team for the Lesley Cup competition since 1974
- Trustee since 2011
- 9 individual titles and 5 twosome victories 
Member of  Club Laval sur-le-Lac in 1978; presentation of the Canadian Amateur Championship. Same at Kanawaki in 1982
Member of the Québec Golf Association tournament committee from 1998 to 2007
Club Captain of Kanawaki in 2008 – 2009
Director of the Kanawaki Course Committee 2016, 2017
Member of the Kanawaki Standing Committee since 1995
Trustee of the N-Y Metropolitan Golf Association Trophy since 1990
Numerous participations in prestigious invitational tournaments including:
- Crump Cup, Pine Valley, NJ
- Anderson Memorial, Winged Foot, NY
- Baltusrol Invitational, Springfield NJ
- Travis Invitational, Garden City NY
- Troy Invitational, Troy, NY
- Masters North, Malone, NY

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2023 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 4 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu; Jacques Nols; Marcel Paul Raymond; Graham Cooke
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944 - ) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909 - 1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938 - ) inducted in 2005
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964 - ) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947 - 2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953 -) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970 -   ) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946 - ) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937 -) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958 - ) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947 -  ) inducted in 2020
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944 - ) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913 – 1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921 - 2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960 -) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912 - 1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908 - 1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911 – 1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982 - ) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887 - 1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882 – 1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945 - ) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943 - ) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953 -...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939 - ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021