Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955)

Karl Kaspar Keffer (December 31, 1882 - October 22, 1955) - inducted in 2016

As a boy, Karl Kaspar Keffer spent most of his time on the Toronto Golf Course close to his home. He worked part time as a caddy and played baseball and hockey. He worked for a while in a candy factory but a boiler blew up and that ended his candy career. He played senior hockey until 1908 when he received a skate-blade foot wound which bothered him the rest of his life.

In 1906, he became a professional golfer at the Toronto Golf Club under the tutelage of George Cumming and won the Canadian Open Golf Championships held at the Toronto Golf Club in 1909 and 1914 and was runner-up along with R.T. 'Bobby" Jones and J.M. Barnes in 1919 at the Hamilton Golf Club.

To this day, Karl Keffer is the only Canadian-born winner of the Canadian Open Golf Championship.

After a year's service as an assistant professional at the Albany Country Club in Albany, N.Y., Karl became the Head Professional at the Ottawa Golf Club in 1911 and remained there throughout his career. The Ottawa Golf Club was given the "Royal" designation in 1912.

He was a founding member of the Canadian Professional Golfers' Association in 1911, its Secretary-Treasurer 1914-1928, Captain from 1934-1937 and President from 1938-1943. He would spend his summers at the Royal Ottawa Golf Club in Aylmer, Québec, and his winters as the pro at the Jekyll Island Golf Club in Jekyll Island, Georgia, USA. He also won the Manitoba Open in 1919 and the Québec Open in 1926.

Karl Keffer married Eveline Freeman in 1913 and their son Howard Franklin Keffer was born on November 25, 1914. From 1916 to 1919, Karl was a soldier in WWI (Sapper in the Royal Canadian Engineers). He was primarily a runner of messages between the trenches. He was influential in getting many young men to join the fight by writing letters in newspapers and to companies and associations, including the Canadian Golf Association. Sadly, while Karl was in France, Eveline was stricken by the influenza pandemic which was sweeping the world in 1918 killing millions of people.

Karl Keffer was also renowned for his club-making ability as well as his golf course design capabilities and his hickory-shafted golf clubs are treasured by collectors.

On October 14, 1929 Karl Keffer was awarded an Honorary Membership by the Royal Ottawa Golf Club for his "faithful and meritorious service". This was a rare honor for at the time the only other Honorary Memberships awarded to golf professionals were to George Cumming of the Toronto Golf Club and Charlie Murray of the Royal Montreal Golf Club.

Karl Keffer continued to serve as a consultant with the Royal Ottawa Golf Club after his retirement in 1943. In the Royal Ottawa's Captain's Book for 1955, there is a hand-written record: "October 22nd, Karl Keffer passed away... a great golfer, sportsman and gentleman."

Karl Kaspar Keffer was inducted posthumously into the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame in 1986, the Golf Ontario Hall of Fame in 2000 and now the Québec Golf Hall of Fame on June 29, 2016.

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2024 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 3 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu, Jacques Nols, Marcel Paul Raymond
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944-...) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909-1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938-2022) inducted in 2005
André Maltais (1942-...) inducted in 2024 
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964-...) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947-2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953-...) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970-...) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946-...) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937-...) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958-...) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947-...) inducted in 2020
Diane Dunlop-Hébert (1959-...) inducted in 2024
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944-...) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913-1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921-2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960-...) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912-1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908-1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911-1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982-...) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887-1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882-1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945-...) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943-...) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953-...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939-... ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021