Daniel Talbot (1953-…)

Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Commemorative video
Daniel Talbot, a professional golf legends, was honoured at La Vallée du Richelieu on June 3, 2019.

At thirteen years old, Daniel Talbot already showed signs of exceptional talent as he contributed to Beloeil's Group-1 victory in the Junior Inter-Sectional Matches of the Montréal Regional Association. This was the beginning of a long and successful career that led him to compete around the globe.

In his junior year, he measured up to well-known players such as Robbie Jackson, René Noël, and Greg Olson. He was crowned twice at the Provincial Junior Boys’ Championship; in the juvenile category in 1968 and as a junior in 1971. His performances led him to earn a place on the 1970 and 1971 Junior Team that represented Québec in the boys’ inter-provincial competition.

In the same years, he also got one step ahead of Graham Cooke and earned a place on the Québec Amateur Teams of 1970 and 1972 with Mickey Batten and Pierre Lessard, amongst others, and played in the inter-provincial competition for the Willingdon Cup. He won the 1972 Duke of Kent as well as the Golf Québec Spring Open in 1985 aside from tying for the professional title at the 1979 Spring Open and ranking second, behind Adrien Bigras, in 1983.

Throughout his professional career, he won the Québec Golf Professional Championship seven times. With three victories at the Québec Open in 1979, 1981 and 1984, as well as six top-5's within a 10-year period, he had the opportunity to cross swords with Dave Barr, Dan Halldorson, Moe Norman, and George Knudson. On the PGA of Québec Tour, Daniel Talbot has an impressive record of over fifty titles. He also won the 1976 Saskatchewan Open in which he was also a runner-up, behind Bob Panasik, in 1986.

At the national level, he played in the Canadian Open nine times and made the cut three times. He was runner-up in the Canadian Championship, behind Raymond Floyd, and was crowned twice in the Canadian Super Senior Championship. Across the border, Daniel Talbot won some twenty mini-tour events held in Florida over a 10-year period. He also played in Africa, France, England – in the British Senior Open, Scotland, Australia, and New Zealand. As a matter of fact, he earned his place in the Australian competition by ranking first on the 1984 PGA Points System.

Besides managing his own golf academy, he acted as the teaching professional of the Centre de pratique St-Hubert for three years and dedicated fifteen years at Golf Municipal de Montréal, in the Olympic Village. In addition, he was Golf Director at the Country Club of Montréal for two years, at Golf Le Mirage for five years, one year at Candiac, and at the Golf de l’Ouest de Montréal for four years.

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2023 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 4 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu; Jacques Nols; Marcel Paul Raymond; Graham Cooke
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944 - ) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909 - 1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938 - ) inducted in 2005
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964 - ) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947 - 2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953 -) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970 -   ) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946 - ) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937 -) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958 - ) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947 -  ) inducted in 2020
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944 - ) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913 – 1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921 - 2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960 -) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912 - 1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908 - 1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911 – 1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982 - ) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887 - 1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882 – 1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945 - ) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943 - ) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953 -...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939 - ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021