Mario Brisebois (1953- )

(photo by Ovation médias) 

Mario Brisebois - inducted in 2018

Sport journalist since more than 45 years, he also left a legacy in the golf industry
of the Mauricie area, in Québec and Canada


On September 12, 2018, Mario Brisebois, the well-known columnist of Le Journal de Montréal, current blogger for Golf Canada and, and precious collaborator of the Golf International magazine, became the 29th member to be inducted into the Québec Golf Hall of Fame.

Native to the Mauricie area, Mario stood out from the crowd during his years as a junior at the Club de golf Shawinigan and on the provincial stage. As a matter of fact, he was selected to represent Golf Québec, formerly known as the Québec Golf Association (QGA), in the prestigious competition for the Williamson Cup held in 1970 at the Aronimink Golf Club, in Philadelphia. This was a huge honour in his region where very few juniors had the opportunity to participate in such high level tournaments.

Later on, his studies and budding career as a journalist at Le Journal de Montréal kept him too busy to participate in sporting events. As a result, he stopped competing in amateur golf tournaments. Fortunately, Mario’s love for the game of golf continued. In 1973, he had the best seat in the house to witness Jocelyne Bourassa’s triumph at the Canadian LPGA event, La Canadienne, held at the Montréal Municipal Golf Club. And rightly so, as he was nothing less than the official caddy of the legendary competitor, also a Shawinigan native, in this historic championship.

Throughout his career as a journalist, Mario dedicated his time to covering golf, tennis and skiing. He always made a point to understand every aspect of the sport he was writing about. For this reason, he was honoured in 1985 as Best Journalist by Tennis Québec and was inducted in the Laurentian Ski Hall of Fame in 2003.

Mario always attached great importance to supporting Québec’s hopefuls. Many athletes, both amateurs and professionals, benefited from exceptional media coverage throughout their athletic development. A warm, cheerful and energetic character, he always promoted sports with extraordinary generosity throughout the province and in Canada. His work and leadership have earned him the recognition and respect of athletes and the entire industry.

At Golf Québec, more specifically, we are grateful for Mario, who along with a group of colleagues created the Pierre-Nadon Prize in 2005. Every year, the recipient of this honour is a person who has contributed in an exceptional way to the development and promotion of golf in Québec.

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2024 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 3 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu, Jacques Nols, Marcel Paul Raymond
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944-...) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909-1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938-2022) inducted in 2005
André Maltais (1942-...) inducted in 2024 
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964-...) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947-2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953-...) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970-...) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946-...) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937-...) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958-...) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947-...) inducted in 2020
Diane Dunlop-Hébert (1959-...) inducted in 2024
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944-...) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913-1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921-2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960-...) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912-1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908-1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911-1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982-...) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887-1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882-1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945-...) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943-...) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953-...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939-... ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021