André Gagné (1944 - )

André Gagné (July 18, 1944 – …) inducted in 2016
Commemorative video
Technical draftsman for the Québec Ministry of Natural Resources, André Gagné always had a vibrant passion for the game of golf, not only as a sport, but also to promote it and facilitate its development. As such, he contributed in many projects throughout the provinces including the course planning, drawing, designing, and on-site supervision at Le St-Ferréol, Pohénégamook, Statsny, Fort-Prével, Kénogami, and Forestville golf clubs as well as at the practice ranges of Mr. Gourdeau on Île d’Orléans and Mr. Welch in Québec City.

In 1997, he joined the Québec City Regional Association as a volunteer. He acted as Regional President from 2005 to 2007 and is still actively involved as a Special Adviser. From 1998 to 2008, he also was one of the Board members of the Québec Golf Association (QGA) which is now operating as Golf Québec.

From a competitive point of view, André Gagné became an amateur golf legend a long time ago at the regional, provincial, and national levels where he cumulated over 260 victories including fourteen (14) major titles. More specifically, he won the Canadian Men’s Senior Championship in 2003, the Provincial Men’s Senior Championship of 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2007, amateur champion of the Québec Open in 1965 and 1978, the Duke of Kent of 1966, 1975, and 1979, the Provincial Men’s Match Play of 2003, 2004, and 2005, as well as the Provincial 2-Ball, Best Ball Championship with his brother Robert in 1972. To this already extensive list of national and provincial championships, he added an impressive series of regional victories and titles.

Through the years, Mr. Gagné represented the province of Québec nine (9) times as a member of the senior teams that participated in the inter-provincial competitions presented within the Canadian Men’s Senior Championships of 2000 as well as from 2002 to 2009. He was crowned Senior Golfer of the Year by Golf Québec in 2002, 2003, and 2005, as well as Senior Golfer of the Year by Golf Canada in 2003. In addition, he was honoured twice as the regional Amateur Golfer of the Year and eleven times in the senior category.

Nonetheless, the greatest achievement of André Gagné will always be his 54 consecutive tournament participations, from 1963 to 2016, in the Duke of Kent which is held every year at the Royal Québec Golf Club. He won this event three times and ranked in the Top-10 no less than 24 times. To commemorate his 50th participation in this prestigious tournament comprised in the Men’s Triple Crow, he was presented with the 2012 Pierre-Nadon Prize. At the same time, a new trophy was created in his name to celebrate, every year, the performances of the Québec City player with the lowest score at the Duke of Kent.

His wife, Marthe, their two children and grandchildren, as well as the Royal Québec members and the Golf Québec volunteers and staff who had the privilege to work with and see André Gagné in action have good reasons to be proud of him.

Souvenir video clip (in French) 

Committee and Inducted Members

The 2024 selection committee is comprised of:
  • 3 members appointed by Golf Québec, at least three of whom are past presidents of Golf Québec: Charlie Beaulieu, Jacques Nols, Marcel Paul Raymond
  • 1 representative of the PGA of Canada: Guy Faucher
  • 1 inductee: Debbie Savoy Morel
  • 1 selected by the committee: Michel St-Laurent
Inducted members of the Québec Golf Hall of Fame
Pierre Archambault (1944-...) inducted in 2017
Gordon Baxter Taylor (1909-1999) inducted in 1996
Adrien Bigras (1938-2022) inducted in 2005
André Maltais (1942-...) inducted in 2024 
Jack Bissegger (1932-2009) inducted in 2019
Rémi Bouchard (1964-...) inducted in 2023
Jocelyne Bourassa (1947-2021) inducted in 1996
Mario Brisebois (1953-...) inducted in 2018
Mary Lee Cobick (1970-...) inducted in 2020
Graham Cooke (1946-...) inducted in 2008
Judy Darling-Evans (1937-...) inducted in 1998
Steve Davies (1958-...) inducted in 2022 
Alexander Dennistoun (1821-1895) inducted in 2020
Doran "Duke" Doucet (1947-...) inducted in 2020
Diane Dunlop-Hébert (1959-...) inducted in 2024
Pat Fletcher (1916-1985) inducted in 1998
André Gagné (1944-...) inducted in 2016
Damien Gauthier (1913-1999) inducted in 2000
Christopher Howard Gribbin (1921-2012) inducted in 1996
Mary Ann Hayward (1960-...) inducted in 2011
Stanley Horne (1912-1995) inducted in 1996
Jules Huot (1908-1999) inducted in 1996
The eight Huot brothers inducted in 1996
Karl Kaspar Keffer (1882-1955) inducted in 2016
Bill Kerr Sr. (1911-1997) inducted in 1997
Lisa Meldrum (1982-...) inducted in 2023
Albert Henri Murray (1887-1974) inducted in 1996
Charles Richard Murray (1882-1939) inducted in 1996
Jacques Nols (1945-...) inducted in 2012
Dave Ross (1943-...) inducted in 2022 
Debbie Savoy Morel (1953-...) inducted in 2017
Daniel Talbot (1953-…) inducted in 2019
Marie-Thérèse Torti (1963-...) inducted in 2021
Robert "Bob" Vokey (1939-... ) inducted in 2017
Howard Watson (1907-1992) inducted in 2021